Week 15 – City Inspiration

Standard

20140509_142119

The Facts

Fabric: black knit from stash

Pattern: McCall’s M6556 Fashion Star

Year: 2012

Notions: Thread, from stash

Time to complete: ½ pot of coffee

First worn: N/A

Wear again? Possibly

Total Cost: Um, $2-$3 for the pattern?

*Please note that this post was written last year, and I have only just now gotten around to sharing. Please enjoy!

City Inspiration. Like many of my challenges, the hardest part of this one was the getting started on the project. I was originally going to make a vest, but I couldn’t find a fabric in my stash fit the criteria that I was looking for in order to make said vest. Maybe I will find something and use it for a future post. Maybe I need to shop for new fabric…

When I think of what people wear in the cities, versus the suburbs or the country, I think of three things. One is an edgy, trend setting look. Two is business attire, tailored and polished. Three is what one would wear for a night out on the town. The vest that I was going to make would have fallen in between the first two categories. It would have been a tailored vest appropriate for the office, but with an edge. Just the thing for one to wear if they were working in graphic design or a similar field.

This pattern was picked out by Mr. Uncommon Geek on a trip to the local fabric store. I was feeding my addiction, I mean, stocking up on sewing patterns while they were on sale. Since he was bored, I gave him a book and asked him to look and see if there was anything that he liked. He picked this one.

The pattern itself is simple. There is one piece for the front and one piece for the back. However, the pieces are so big that you are supposed to attach the bottom pieces of the pattern front and back before laying out the pattern pieces on the fabric. However, the fabric I was working with had been used for a different project previously and there was not enough to make the full dress. So, the extra drapey bit at the bottom was not included and the instead of making a dress that is its own outfit, I made a long shirt that can pair well with some skinny jeans and sparkly accessories.

I’m not sure if I will ever have a place to wear this top. Most of my social activities don’t really call for trendy or fashion forward attire. They tend more toward steampunk events or casual get togethers. However, I have noticed that a large portion of my closet looks like it is from 10 – 20 years ago and is in drastic need of an update. I have recently began toying with the idea of having my friends come over and pull out everything in my closet that they hate seeing me wear, like how they do in “What Not to Wear.” However, I fear that I will end up with truly nothing in my closet and I will have to go shopping for new clothes in my steampunk attire. (Come on, my steampunk stuff would not be involved in the purge. I’m not completely crazy.)

To get back at the subject of this sewing challenge, I recommend this pattern as a beginner’s introduction to working with knits. There is only a front piece and a back piece to worry about and there are instructions for modifying the pattern to make different variations. If I ever do get up the courage to wear this out and about, it may give me the courage to try out some of the Japanese sewing books that have been translated and made available. Since they all seem to have pretty mixed reviews, I will definitely be checking them out of the library before I try purchasing them.

20140509_141931

20140509_141947
Happy sewing!

