Hat + scarf = harf…That can’t be right

Standard

The Facts

Fabric: fleece from stash

Pattern: Simplicity 1795

Year: recent

Notions: thread

Time to complete: an afternoon

First worn: not yet

Wear again? Possibly next winter

Total Cost: I have no idea

Quite some time ago, I promised Mr. UncommonGeek that I would make him a hoody that resembled a recognizer from Tron. Since I have no experience sewing sweatshirts, and I am trying to use fabric that I already own (but do not currently own any suitable sweatshirt type material), this has proven rather difficult.

20150308_195526

(This is the tag from one of the fabrics used in this hat. Notice the date. I have had this fabric since 2010. Slowly but surely I will use all of the fabric in my stash.)

Then I came across the YouTube video that Sewing Nerd! that showed how to make a Mortal Kombat inspired hooded scarf. You can watch it here: http://youtu.be/Hkz4T8ikDrM

I showed the video to Mr. UncommonGeek and he immediately saw that I could make a hooded scarf that looks like a recognizer. I wasn’t 100% sure how to make the pattern that she uses. I have tried to make head wear in the past and it has not turned out well at all. Then I remembered that I had a copy of Simplicity 1795. I bought it awhile back because I am kind of a sucker for cute accessories. I figured that since spring is almost here, why not make some winter accessories.

1795

Since I have not made this pattern before, I decided to make a test one to see if it would work for what I need. The pattern went together pretty smoothly, but I found that the scarf part is super short. I feel like a t-rex when I put my hands in the pockets. I definitely need to lengthen the scarf ends for the final product. This means that I need to make another test hooded scarf to make sure I have the right pattern for when I make the final product for my husband.

Here is the finished product. I used my octopus that I made recently as a model.

20150308_195829

Happy Sewing!

