May the Fourth, you know and such

Standard

1346

Today is Friday. It is the First of May. Tomorrow is Free Comic Book Day. Last week we went to the Steampunk Symposium 2015. The next two weekends are booked as well. Monday is May the Fourth. It feels like the Geek Universe is emerging along with the spring.

To follow along with the emergence of the warmer weather and the convention season that is blossoming along side that warmth, I have made a skirt.

I used Simplicity pattern # 1346. I made view C. I had been looking for a good skirt pattern that would showcase the prints of the fabric that I purchased, but would still be a skirt that I would wear. I think that I finally found that when I made this skirt. I will make some more with this pattern to double check.

It is a pretty basic skirt pattern that comes together really easily. The hardest part is putting the zipper in as the directions tell you how to install a lapped zipper, but of course, I tossed the instructions aside at that point and just hoped for the best.

The zipper I installed was not a lapped zipper that the pattern instructions called for, but it is a working zipper that does not look too terribly awful, so I am happy with the outcome. It is also one of the few skirts that I have made that I have received more than one compliment on. There is a bonus to this skirt. The fabric glows in the dark. It is a skirt that I am happy with making.

darthvaderprint

I’m not sure if I will be wearing this skirt out to Free Comic Book day tomorrow, or if I will be wearing jeans like everyone else. If I do wear this skirt tomorrow, then hopefully I will get some pictures of me in it as I have failed to have any pictures taken of me in the skirt so far.

Happy sewing!

